The club to be elevated to the Betfred Championship in 2021 will be revealed on Thursday 10 December at 2pm

Statement from the Rugby Football League

A vacancy is to be created in the Championship for 2021 by the elevation of one club to the Betfred Super League to replace Toronto Wolfpack.

Five clubs from Betfred League 1 have applied – Barrow Raiders, Doncaster, Newcastle Thunder, Rochdale Hornets and Workington Town.

A five-strong panel, chaired by former RFL President Air Commodore Dean Andrew OBE, will this week complete its assessment of applications against the following criteria:

  1. Enhancing the commercial value of the Championship to broadcast and sponsorship partners
  2. Delivering value to other members of the Championship.
  3. Being competitive on the field of play.
  4. Being sustainable for the 2021 season and beyond.
  5. Delivering the broader goals of the sport as set out in the RFL’s Strategy Reset document.

Panel chair, Dean Andrew OBE, says: “We have adopted a process similar to the one for deciding which Betfred Championship club will play in Super League in 2021 and we have been very impressed by the quality and honesty of the submissions.

“I’d like to thank all five clubs for engaging so enthusiastically with this process in such a relatively short space of time.

“All five applications reflect well on the business acumen, enthusiasm, ambition and realism that exists in League 1. One club will be a fabulous addition to the Betfred Championship; the other four are already raising the bar on what will be a very competitive League 1 next season.”

A decision on which Betfred Championship club will compete in Super League next season will be announced next week.

Applications are being considered from Bradford Bulls, Featherstone Rovers, Leigh Centurions, London Broncos, Toulouse Olympique and York City Knights.

You may also like…